615 HIKES and counting

Top Stories



Nava Durga Jatra

Nava Durga Jatra

560. Nava Durga Jatra
Photo By: Bipul Shrestha
Posted Date: 29th October, 2013

Photo Description:
This picture was taken 2 years back in the Nava Durga Jatra in Dhulikhel.

Nava Durga means nine Durgas, comprising of Mahakali, Kumari, Barahi, Brahmayani, Mahesvari,
Viasnavi, Indrani, Mahalaksmi and Tripurasundari. Durgas are the various demonic manifestation of
Parvati, the Sakti of Shiva, in tantric tradition.

The Nava Durga dance proceeds according to the beatings of Dyokhin and the performances of Taa (a pair of thick, small cyambals) and Kanhe-baja. The Dyokhin, Taa and Kanhe-baja have symbolic meaning. It is said that the ringing sound of the musical instruments of Nava Durga dance not only gives the rhythmic signals to the dancers but also removes the people’s troubles and obstacles caused by evil beings.

Camera Specifications:
Camera model: Canon EOS REBEL T2i
F-stop: f/5.6
Exposure time: 1/60 sec
ISO: 800
Focal Length: 55mm

95 thoughts on “Nava Durga Jatra

  1. I am now not positive the place you’re getting your information, however great topic. I needs to spend a while studying much more or understanding more. Thank you for fantastic info I used to be looking for this info for my mission.

  2. Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and help others like you aided me.

Leave a Reply