598 HIKES and counting

Top Stories



Deertalk 2013 Season 1

Deertalk 2013 Batch 1

Professional Communication Club (PCC) of Deerwalk has started a public speaking platform named


which aims to provide Deerwalkers with an opportunity to improve and enhance verbal communication skills. Each season, comprised of about ten participants, is provided with training on public speaking and participates in four Deertalk Episodes (spread over four weeks): Topic Based Speech, Debate, Extempore, and Slideshow Presentation. A panel of judges provides feedback and suggestions for improvement to the participants. Assessments are made on the basis of grammar, vocabulary, pronunciation, content, context, and body language. Winners are announced for each episode and there is a finale at the end where the winners of the season are declared after aggregating the scores of all episodes.

Deertalk 2013 Season 1

was comprised of Basanta Amatya, Dinesh Amatya, Kanchan Raj Pandey, Manish Man Singh, Narendra Maden, Prabhat Man Sainju, Randhir Yadav, Saroj Dhakal, Saroj Neupane, and Ujjwal Manadhar. The season started off with Episode 1,Topic Based Speech, where each participant spoke for 2 minutes on the topic of one’s choice. It was followed by a training on public speaking by Edward Hausman. Episode 2 was a Debate on the topic “Do you believe in Marriage?” Episode 3 was an Extempore episode where the participants gave impromptu speeches on topics given to them on the spot. Episode 4 was Slideshow Presentation where participants gave 3 minute presentations on topics of their choice. Winners are as per below:

Category Winner Runner-up
Episode 1 Manish Man Singh Prabhat Man Sainju
Episode 2 Manish Man Singh Prabhat Man Sainju
Episode 3 Saroj Dhakal Manish Man Singh, Prabhat Man Sainju
Episode 4 Prabhat Man Sainju Narendra Maden
Season Manish Man Singh Prabhat Man Sainju


Manish Man Singh, the winner of the season, was awarded with the book “Seasons of Flight” by Manjushree Thapa.

[Deertalk 2013 Season 1 was coordinated by Ekta Shrestha, Rinesh Bajracharya, Ashay Thakur, Edward Hausman, Pramod Kumar Rai, Rubeena Gurung, Bhoj Raj Ghimire and Bipul Shrestha.]

Leave a Reply